Aberg, Scott nominated on the Haskins Award watch list

LUBBOCK, Texas – Texas Tech’s Ludvig Aberg i Sandy Scott have been nominated to a 20-player preseason watchlist for the Fred Haskins Award presented by Stifel. The Haskins Award is given annually to the most outstanding male college golfer, according to the vote of players, coaches and members of the media. Both Red Raiders are on the preseason watch list for the second straight season.

Aberg is currently at No. 3 in the amateur golf world rankings, while Scott has dropped to the top ten after not competing last year due to a wrist injury. A senior from Scotland, Scott has been as high as the WAGR’s No. 4 and has been twice from across America deciding to play again this season with the Red Raiders. the nation and Scott at number 16 reaching their preseason roster this season.

Of the 20 players on the preseason watch list, six are from the state, with Texas having three players at Pierceson Coody, Cole Hammer and Travis Vick and Texas A&M represented by Sam Bennett. Oklahoma State joins Tech with two players on the roster with Eugenio Chacarra and Bo Jim.

Aberg, a youngster from Sweden, reaches the second season in all of America, where he finished eighth overall in the NCAA Championship and scored two wins during the school season. He finished runner-up in the European Amateur Championship this summer and also competed in the European Team Amateur Championship and the US Amateur Championship.

Haskins Award winners include Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Ben Crenshaw and last season’s winner, John Pak.

Texas Tech begins a four-tournament fall calendar next week at the Carmel Cup in Pebble Beach on Sept. 3-5 in California. The team will also compete in the Maridoe (September 13-5), Blessings Collegiate (October 4-6) and the Big Match Match 12 (October 11-13). Fans can follow the show through updates on social media @TexasTechMGolf.

Ludvig Aberg, Texas Tech
Sam Bennett, Texas A&M
Jacob Bridgeman, Clemson
Ricky Castell, Florida
Eugene Chacarra, Oklahoma State
Pierceson Coody, Texas
Alex Fitzpatrick, Wake Forest
Nick Gabrelcik, North Florida
Noah Goodwin, institute
Ryan Hall, South Carolina
Cole Hammer, Texas
Bo Jin, Oklahoma State
Ryggs Johnston, Arizona
Dylan Menante, Pepperdine
William Sleeve, Pepperdine
Trent Phillips, Georgia
David Puig, State of Arizona
Sandy Scott, Texas Tech
Michael Thorbjornsen, Stanford
Travis Vick, Texas