Gov. Abbott Announces Texas Women’s Hall of Fame Honors for 2020-2021 | Office of the Governor of Texas

August 30, 2021 | Austin, Texas | Press release

Gov. Greg Abbott and the Governor’s Commission on Women announced today that six extraordinary Texas women, recognized for their outstanding achievements in their fields and for changing the course of history, have been selected for incorporation into the Texas Women’s Hall of Fame.

“The Texas Women’s Hall of Fame recognizes and celebrates notable Texas women not only for their individual accomplishments, but also for their contributions to an even stronger Texas of tomorrow, and I feel honored to welcome these six women achieved as recruits, ”Governor Abbott said. “Each of the winners is recognized as a pioneer, an inspiration to the next generation of leaders who will follow in their footsteps in business, education, military service, philanthropy, public service, the arts and more. First Lady and I thank each of these distinguished honors for their leadership and lasting contributions to this great state. ”

The 2020-2021 Women’s Hall of Fame opening ceremony, hosted by Governor Greg Abbott and First Lady Cecilia Abbott, will be held on November 4, 2021 at Texas Woman’s University in Denton, Texas.

The honorees of the Texas Women’s Hall of Fame for the period 2020-2021 are:

• Lauren Anderson (Arts): In recognition of her breaking boundaries and her distinguished artistic achievements in the world of ballet and her generosity in inspiring children to achieve stars.

• Charlye Ola Farris (legal profession): in recognition of his pioneering role and his 56 years in the legal profession, paving the way for others by overcoming adversity with dignity and perseverance.

• Dawn Ferrell, Major General (Ret.), USAF (Military Service) – In recognition of her exemplary leadership and significant contributions to our state and nation in both military service and higher education.

• Kendra Scott (company): in recognition of her extraordinary entrepreneurial spirit, remarkable business leadership and passionate philanthropy in support of the causes of women and children.

• Elaine Stolte (Community Service): In recognition of her decades of service and national leadership as a tireless advocate, providing healing and giving a voice to children who have survived sexual abuse.

• Ofelia Vasquez-Philo (civic leadership): in recognition of her legacy of community service and innovative leadership in support of civil rights and the preservation of Hispanic arts, culture and heritage.

About the Texas Women’s Hall of Fame: Created in 1984 by the Texas Governor’s Women’s Commission, the Texas Women’s Hall of Fame recognizes the achievements of Texas women nominated every two years for jeans and selected by an independent jury. Affiliated people include former first ladies, astronauts, businessmen, civil servants, Olympic athletes and other women of significant success. A permanent exhibition is located at Texas Woman’s University in Denton, Texas, and currently includes biographies and photographs of all recipients.

Learn more about the Governor’s Commission for Women.

For a list of winners and information on the Texas Women’s Hall of Fame, visit

PHOTO: Honors of the Texas Women’s Hall of Fame 2020-2021: (Top, LR): Lauren Anderson; Charlye Ola Farris; Dawn Ferrell (Bottom, LR): Kendra Scott; Elaine Stolte; Ofelia Vasquez-Philo