Governor Abbott appoints seven to Texas medical board Office of the Governor of Texas

CLICK HERE For Online Social Media Jobs That Pay $25 – $50 Per Hour.

September 20, 2021 | Austin, Texas | Date

Gov. Greg Abbott has named Ada Booth, MD, and Ebony Todd, and has re-appointed Michael Cokinos, Kandace Farmer, DO, LuAnn Morgan, Jayaram Naidu, MD, and Sherif Zaafran, MD, to the Texas Medical Board for terms. which will expire on April 13, 2027 The Council regulates the practice of medicine in Texas.

Ebony Todd of Fort Hood is a lawyer and member of Jackson Todd & Lambert, PLLC. He previously served as a defense judge for the Army Department before retiring from service. She currently serves as Vice President of the Greater Killeen Community Clinic and as President of Rotary International Services. Todd graduated with a degree in English from Baylor University and earned a doctorate in law from the Texas Wesleyan School of Law, now the Texas A&M School of Law. She is currently a Master of Law candidate at the University of Alabama.

Ada Booth, MD of Corpus Christi is a child abuse pediatrician with the resource assessment and child abuse resources team at Driscoll Children’s Hospital. He is a member of the Texas Pediatric Society, Nueces County Medical Society, Corpus Christi Pediatric Society, Coastal Bend Child Fatality Review Team, and the Ray E. Helfer Society. Booth received a bachelor of science degree in interdisciplinary studies: pediatric psychology from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County and a doctorate in medicine from the University of Indiana School of Medicine.

Michael Cokinos of Houston is the founder and president of Cokinos Energy Corporation. He is a board member of the South Texas College of Law in Houston and is a director of the Greek Orthodox Legacy Fund and a member of the Houstonian Club. In addition, Cokinos is the city’s former mayor and councilor for Hunter’s Creek Village, a substitute professor at Spring Branch ISD, a former president and police commissioner for the Memorial Village Police Department and a member and former president of Texas A&M University of the Galveston Board of Visitors. Cokinos earned a bachelor of arts degree from Texas A&M University and is a graduate of Rice University, Jones Graduate School of Business Executive Management Program.

Kandace Farmer, DO of Highland Village is a radiologist and breast imaging specialist in diagnostic radiology at Rose Imaging Specialists. He is a member of the Texas Medical Association, Society of Breast Imaging, American College of Osteopathic Medicine and the American Osteopathic College of Radiology Mammography Committee. She is also a member of The Links Incorporated, a former member of the North Texas Women Business League and a former volunteer for the Boys and Girls Club. Farmer received a bachelor of science degree from the University of Maryland Eastern Shore and a doctorate in osteopathic medicine from the Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine and completed her breast scholarship training at Johns Hopkins University.

LuAnn Morgan of Midland is retiring after more than 40 years of service to the electrical service industry and volunteering for nonprofits. She began her career at TXU Electric, eventually becoming the district manager who served 11 counties in West Texas. After early retirement, she became an adjunct instructor at the University of Texas Permian Basin (UTPB) in statistics and marketing, served three terms in Midland City Council, and served as appointed governor of the Department of Licensing and Regulation. of Texas. She has been President and Campaign President of United Way of Midland, President of Economic Development of the Midland Chamber of Commerce, Finance for Boy Scouts of America, President of Senior Services and President of the Rotary International Exchange Program. She is a graduate of Texas Leadership and a co-founding member of two nonprofits, the Midland Humane Coalition and Communities in Schools of the Permian Basin. Morgan received a bachelor of science degree from Texas Tech University and a master’s degree in business administration from the UTPB.

Jayaram Naidu, MD of Odessa is a physician and president of Naidu Clinic and assistant professor of clinic at the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center. He has been doing private internships as an internist for over 40 years. He is a member of the Texas Medical Association, the Actor County Medical Society, and the Advisory Board of the Texas Health Sciences Center and a board member of the Odessa Chamber of Commerce. In addition, he is a former appointed governor of the working group on chronic kidney disease. Naidu graduated in medicine from Guntur Medical College in Andhra, India, in 1966 and completed his residency in internal medicine at AC Logan Memorial Hospital in New York.

Sheriff Zaafran, MD of Houston is a Board Certified Anesthesiologist and is the Vice President of the U.S. Anesthesia Partner Clinical Governance Board for the Gulf Coast Region, as well as a member of the Clinical Governance Board for US anesthesia partners. He serves on the board of directors of Lucid Lane and is a member of the FDA’s advisory committee on analgesic and anesthetic products. He has also chaired the subcommittee of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services working group. He is also a delegate to the Texas Medical Association (TMA), Texas Society of Anesthesiologists, a delegate and fellow of the American Society of Anesthesiologists, and a member of the TMA delegation to the American Medical Association. Zaafran studied biochemistry at the University of Texas at Austin and graduated from medical school and residency at the University of Texas McGovern Medical School in Houston. He is currently the chairman of the Texas Medical Board.

Credit –