The brand is a lifelong tradition in Texas.
Since the 1800s, Texas ranchers have been using markers to identify their livestock and help prevent theft. While there is no law requiring you to mark livestock, it is against the law to use a mark that is not registered.
According to Article 144,044 of the Agricultural Code, all trademarks must be re-registered every 10 years.
On Sept. 1, Walker County Secretary’s Office will begin the process of renewing livestock brands. Trademarks that had previously been registered in the Walker County Secretary’s office will expire Aug. 31.
Anyone with a trademark will have until February 28, 2022 to renew their trademark. Anyone who does not re-register during this period loses the legal right to this mark. The mark will be available to anyone who can register “open” on March 1, 2022, according to the first order of arrival.
The definition of a brand as defined by the Texas Raisers Association and Southwestern Cattle is “brand plus location.” It is important to know how to read livestock. Location is as important as the brand itself. The same mark can be registered in the same county as long as the location of the animal is different. Determine the side of your pet by looking at the back of the animal.
The State of Texas requires that trademarks be registered in the county or counties where the owner exploits the livestock. You can also register trademarks, electronic devices and tattoos. To help guide ranchers through the brand registration process, the Walker County Clerk’s Office has online information to convince you or you can visit them at the Walker County Courthouse.
You can find more information about trademarks and trademarks, as well as about the registration application here. The trademark registration fee is $ 26 per brand and first location and $ 5 per additional location.